Family Sayings Sunday – pound of soap!

Standard

Ok, I have missed the last two Sundays but I will not miss today! {said with determination}

Today’s saying has to do with a person’s size.

aunt saying to my grandmother, “Is Deborah feeling ok? She looks like she’s lost weight.”
my grandmother to aunt, “I haven’t heard her complaining about not feeling well. She can’t afford to lose any weight, she’s no bigger than a pound of soap anyway!”

I’ve always wondered how this saying got started. Were they originally talking about a baby and how small it was when it was born? Or maybe how big around someone’s waist is?

I don’t know but I do remember always thinking that it was meant as a compliment.

Hope you enjoyed, glad you stopped by and please come back again 😉

5 responses »

Leave a Reply

